Skip to contentSkip to navigation
The Dalton Camp Award 2020

The Dalton Camp Award 2020

The winner of the 2020 Dalton Camp Award is Radiyah Chowdhury for her essay, The Forever Battle of the Journalist of Colour. This year, FRIENDS is pleased to announce a second prize of $2,500 for the Best Student Journalist Essay, which goes to Fiona O'Flynn for her essay, A Generation Without Wonder.. Learn more about both winners here.

The Dalton Camp Award is a $10,000 prize for the best essay on the link between media and democracy, presented annually by FRIENDS of Canadian Broadcasting. FRIENDS launched the award in 2002 to honour the memory of Dalton Camp, a distinguished commentator on Canadian public affairs. The official media partner for the 2020 Dalton Camp Award is the Toronto Star.

Eligible essays written in English up to 2,000 words in length are judged on both subject matter and strength of written expression on an anonymous basis by a jury.

Any Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada, regardless of age, student or professional status may enter for the $10,000 prize. Students currently enrolled in a recognized post-secondary journalism programme are also eligible for the $2,500 prize. FRIENDS encourages and welcomes applications from across genders, ages, abilities, sexual orientations, religions and beliefs.

There is no entry fee.

Please read our Rules and Regulations before you submit your essay.

Submit your Essay

Submissions are now closed.

Selection Committee

The 2020 Dalton Camp Award Selection Committee is composed of Gene Allen, Hannah Sung, Jane Hilderman, Kathy English, Michael Barclay, and Stephen Kimber. Learn more about them here.

Winning Essays

Read the winning Dalton Camp Award essays from 2003-2020.

Rules and Regulations

Please read our Rules and Regulations before submitting your essay.

About Dalton Camp

Read the biography of Dalton Camp and watch the video that commemorates his life and communicates the story of the Dalton Camp Award.

DCA Medal

Winners will receive $10,000 and the Dalton Camp Award Medal designed by Canada's foremost medal designer and sculptress, the late Dore de Pédèry-Hunt.

Q & A

Q&A with the 2008 Dalton Camp Award Winners.

Media Downloads

Download the 2019 Dalton Camp Award poster and other goodies.