Skip to contentSkip to navigation

FRIENDS of Canadian Broadcasting is a non-profit group for citizens who care deeply about Canadian media, journalism, and programming, want to learn more, and seek ways to get involved in their defence. FRIENDS is not affiliated with any broadcaster or political party. An important part of FRIENDS’ mission is to demonstrate the significance of Canadian content on air and online, and to showcase public support for Canadian programming.

Stewardship of FRIENDS' work falls to our Board of Directors. The Board of Directors establishes and oversees a work plan through a combination of in-person meetings and teleconferences. The Board of Directors has also been known as FRIENDS’ ‘Steering Committee’.

Executive Director and Spokesperson
Daniel Bernhard
FRIENDS Executive Director and Spokesperson Daniel Bernhard

Daniel Bernhard is FRIENDS' Executive Director and Spokesperson. Daniel has spent his career working to advance the public interest. He comes to FRIENDS from Mushroom Cloud consulting, a Toronto-based leading edge firm he built to meet the strategy, operational and software needs of charities, government and social purpose business clients working in the public benefit sector. Daniel is a first generation Canadian. His parents immigrated to Canada from Chile in the 1970s, when the country was ruled by a military dictatorship. Daniel is fluent in English, French and Spanish.

Chair of the Board
Aritha van Herk

Aritha van Herk is a Member of the Order of Canada and the author of five novels, Judith, The Tent Peg, No Fixed Address, Places Far From Ellesmere, and Restlessness. Her non-fiction ranges from In This Place: Calgary 2004-2011 and Prairie Gothic (photographs by George Webber, words by Aritha van Herk) to Mavericks: An Incorrigible History of Alberta, and The Age of Audacity (a history of the University of Calgary). Her most recent work, Stampede and the Westness of West, melds poetry and place-writing. She has published hundreds of articles, reviews and essays. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, member of the Alberta Order of Excellence, and recipient of the Lorne Pierce Medal, she has been honoured as one of the twenty-five most influential artists in Alberta.

Board of Directors

Brenda Baker

Daniel Bernhard


Ani Hotoyan-Joly


Scot Keith

Raymonde Lavoie


Ethan Rabidoux

Raj Shoan

Gregory Taylor

Stand with us in the defense of Canada's cultural and economic interests.