Standing Up For Canadian Voices

The 2023 Dalton Camp Award Selection Committee is composed of Michael Den Tandt, Temur Durrani, Sarah El-Sharaawi, Jane Hilderman, and Danielle Paradis.

Michael Den Tandt is managing editor of He is a former political columnist for the National Post and former investment editor, editorial writer and defence correspondent for the Globe and Mail. From 2017 to 2018, he was Canada-US communications advisor to the prime minister of Canada. From 2019 to 2021, he was senior communications advisor and lead speechwriter to the deputy prime minister of Canada. His journalism has been widely published in Canada since the 1990s. His short fiction has been published in the Whig-Standard Magazine, Tin Roof Press and Pro Tem.

Temur Durrani is a technology reporter and podcast host at The Globe and Mail, based in Toronto. He joined The Globe after most recently working at BNN Bloomberg. He has also worked as staff reporter at the Winnipeg Free Press, Toronto Star, iPolitics Canada and the New Brunswick Telegraph-Journal. A globe-trotting newshound originally from British Columbia, Temur has covered protests in Hong Kong, graffiti art in India and Pakistan, crashes in Alaska, crime in the GTA, federal politics in Ottawa, small business in the Maritimes, finance on the Prairies, and even the Raptors’ historic run to the NBA final. He frequently appears on live-audience and broadcast panels to provide analysis about the Canadian economy.

Sarah El-Shaarawi is a Canadian writer, editor, researcher, and educator. She is Managing Editor of Arab Media & Society and heads the Research and Publications Division of the Kamal Adham Center for Television and Digital Journalism in the School of Global Affairs and Public Policy at the American University in Cairo (AUC). She is also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication at AUC. Sarah’s work has appeared in a variety of publications, including Nature, Foreign Policy, The Tyee, Newsweek Middle East, The National, Africa is a Country, and the Cairo Review of Global Affairs, among others. Sarah was the 2022 winner of the Dalton Camp Award.

Jane Hilderman is a leader in Canada’s public policy sector who was recently appointed as Vice President of Public Affairs and Partnerships at Blueprint, a non-profit supporting practitioners and policymakers with data and evidence to address complex social challenges. Previously, Jane spent four years as the Executive Director of the Samara Centre for Democracy, a nonpartisan charity dedicated to strengthening democracy to better serve Canadians. Jane previously worked on Parliament Hill. She holds a Master of Public Policy from the University of Toronto and a BAH from Queen’s University. Jane and her family make the Prairies their home. 

Danielle Paradis is a Metis writer and educator. She is the Western Correspondent for APTN. She has written for ChatelaineThe Walrus, and The Sprawl to name a few. She is passionate about storytelling, investigative journalism, and arts writing. Danielle works with Indigenous youth through Indigenous Friends Association to bridge the gap between traditional knowledge and technology. She volunteers as a board member for Edmonton’s only non-fiction festival, LitFest. Danielle is a contributing editor for Canadaland and teaches journalism at MacEwan University and Humber College.