Standing Up For Canadian Voices

The 2024 Dalton Camp Award Jury is composed of Michael Den Tandt, Temur Durrani, Sarah El-Sharaawi, Danielle Paradis and Jackie Wong.

Michael Den Tandt is managing editor of He is a former political columnist for the National Post and former investment editor, editorial writer and defence correspondent for the Globe and Mail. From 2017 to 2018, he was Canada-US communications advisor to the Prime Minister of Canada. From 2019 to 2021, he was senior communications advisor and lead speechwriter to the Deputy Prime Minister of Canada. His journalism has been widely published in Canada since the 1990s. His short fiction has been published in the Whig-Standard Magazine, Tin Roof Press and Pro Tem.

Temur Durrani is a technology reporter and podcast host at The Globe and Mail, based in Toronto. He joined The Globe after most recently working at BNN Bloomberg. He has also worked as staff reporter at the Winnipeg Free Press, Toronto Star, iPolitics Canada and the New Brunswick Telegraph-Journal. A globe-trotting newshound originally from BC, Temur has covered protests in Hong Kong, graffiti art in India and Pakistan, crashes in Alaska, crime in the GTA, federal politics in Ottawa, small business in the Maritimes, finance on the Prairies, and even the Raptors’ historic run to the NBA final. He frequently appears on live-audience and broadcast panels to provide analysis about the Canadian economy.

Sarah El-Shaarawi is a Canadian writer, editor, researcher and educator. She is Editor-at-Large of Arab Media & Society. Previously, she headed the Research and Publications Division of the Kamal Adham Center for Television and Digital Journalism at the American University in Cairo, where she was also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication. Sarah’s work has appeared in Nature, Foreign Policy, The Tyee, Newsweek Middle East, The National, Africa is a Country, and the Cairo Review of Global Affairs, among other publications. Currently, she is working toward her PhD in Political Science at the University of Toronto. Sarah was the 2022 winner of the Dalton Camp Award. 

Danielle Paradis is a Metis writer and educator. She is the Western Correspondent for APTN. She has written for Chatelaine, The Walrus, and The Sprawl to name a few. She is passionate about storytelling, investigative journalism, and arts writing. Danielle works with Indigenous youth through Indigenous Friends Association to bridge the gap between traditional knowledge and technology. She volunteers as a board member for Edmonton’s only non-fiction festival, LitFest. Danielle is a contributing editor for Canadaland and teaches journalism at MacEwan University and Humber College.

Jackie Wong

Jackie Wong is a senior editor with The Tyee, an independent online news magazine for BC, where she works with the editorial leadership team and with staff writers, freelancers, journalism fellows and practicum students. Jackie has worked in journalism, publishing, education and in non-profits for 15 years, and previously worked as a reporter, writing instructor and facilitator. She lives with her family on the unceded territories of the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh nations, commonly known as Vancouver, BC.